It’s SO FLUFFY! The new rug that is…

Due to the apartment being pretty contemporary in set up, it felt a bit cold to me at first.  We had a couch in the living room, but no curtains at first along with all hardwood floors.  So when we spoke to each other the sound echoed a little.  As amusing as it was at first, but we soon said we need a rug in the room to absorb sound… STAT!
I of course go into research mode, and at one of my many stops at Home Depot a contemporary shag rug that was REALLY soft caught my eye.  It was one that had to be ordered from Home Depot, so I asked Bill to visit the rug with me.  Poor guy.  I asked him to touch it, put his face on it, run his fingers through the fibers and he did it all.  He was on board, but I was getting the feeling that he wasn’t as excited as me.
After a long three weeks of waiting for the shipment of this rug to the apartment it arrives on a random Thursday.  That night after Bill got home from work I only allowed him to change out of his suit clothes before we unpackaged everything.  No time for dinner!  We have a new rug that is REALLY soft to lay down.

After rushing through moving furniture in order to make this 8’ by 11’ rug fit into the room (why wasn’t Bill moving faster?!) I was so excited!  Before even putting the furniture back in place I stayed on all fours and kept running my hands all over the new shag rug.  It was smooth and soft.  Very fluffy.  The shag fibers are even long enough to push your hand into and leave a handprint.  It was awesome.

It’s SO FLUFFY!

In my euphoric state I looked up a Bill who was standing, watching me with a concerned look on his face.

“Don’t you like it?” I ask.

“I do.” He replies plainly.

“Do you really like it?” I ask again.

“Yes. I told you I do.” Bill says.

“I want you to love it as much as I do!” I state with excitement

“I don’t think that’s possible.”

I ignore his seemingly flat response as I dig my fingers into the carpet and say loudly “IT’S SO FLUFFY!”

“Ok it’s time for dinner.”

I don’t remember anything else about that evening except for that quote from the movie Despicable Me. I just remember a smile crossing my face each time I looked at the floor for the next few weeks.  Bill likes it too, please don’t get me wrong.  But I love it.  I feel like it makes the room, and Bill is kind enough to go along with it.  If you visit sometime please feel free to bend down and touch it.

Leave a Reply

